December 7, 2022

Primers for the Worlds 2022 via Okbet League of Legends

Primers for the Worlds in 2022 via Okbet League of Legends

Primers for the Worlds in 2022 via Okbet League of Legends


It’s time for the Worlds 2022 Championship of League of Legends! The first match of the competition is scheduled to take place on September 29 in Mexico City’s Arena Esports Stadium at Artz Pedregal.

Explain the concept of the World Championship.

The League of Legends World Championship, or simply Worlds, is the most prestigious annual international competition in the game. It pits the best teams from across the world against one another in a competition for the Summoner’s Cup and the right to be called World Champion. More than 800 players from over 100 different professional League of Legends esports teams compete throughout the year in more than a dozen different leagues around the world in order to earn a spot in the event. Each year, the competition takes place in a different region that serves as the host; in 2018, the competition will be held in four different cities that are spread across North America.

When will the Worlds competition take place?

The Play-In Stage of the World Championship gets underway on September 29, and the Finals are scheduled to take place on November 5. The dates for each each stage are shown below.

What kind of format is it?

The Play-In Stage, the Group Stage, and the Knockout Stage are the three stages that make up the Worlds competition (Quarterfinals, Semifinals, and Finals). The following provides a full breakdown of each stage.

Where exactly will the Worlds be held?

Worlds 2022 will begin on September 29 in Mexico City and will end on November 5 in San Francisco. Both events will take place in North America.

Play-Ins were held from September 29 until October 4 at the Arena Esports Stadium at Artz Pedregal in Mexico City, Mexico; Groups were held from October 7-10 and October 13-16 at the Hulu Theater at Madison Square Garden in New York City; Quarterfinals were held from October 20-23 at the Hulu Theater at Madison Square Garden in New York City; Semifinals were held from October 29 until November 5 at the State Farm Arena in Atlanta, Georgia; and the Finals were held on November 5
Who are the contending teams, exactly?

The foundation of a region can be seen in its history of success on the international stage. Other regions receive a lower total number of seeds and/or begin competition in the Play-In Stage compared to consistently strong regions, who send some of their seeds directly to the Group Stage.

This year, the competing teams from each area are as follows:


CHINA – LPL 1st Seed: JingDong Gaming Intel (JDG) 2nd Seed: TOP Esports (TES) 3rd Seed: Edward Gaming Hycan (EDG) 4th Seed: Royal Never Give Up (RNG)

KOREA – LCK 1st Seed: Gen.G (GEN) 2nd Seed: T1 (T1) 3rd Seed: DWG KIA (DK) 4th Seed: DRX (DRX)

EUROPE – LEC 1st Seed: Rogue (RGE) 2nd Seed: G2 Esports (G2) 3rd Seed: Fnatic (FNC) 4th Seed: MAD Lions (MAD)

NORTH AMERICA – LCS 1st Seed: Cloud9 (C9) 2nd Seed: 100 Thieves (100T) 3rd Seed: Evil Geniuses (EG)

SOUTHEAST ASIA – PCS 1st Seed: CTBC Flying Oyster (CFO) 2nd Seed: Mega Bank Beyond Gaming (BYG)

VIETNAM – VCS 1st Seed: GAM Esports (GAM) 2nd Seed: Saigon Buffalo (SGB)


JAPAN – LJL DetonatioN FocusMe (DFM)


OCEANIA – LCO Chiefs Esports Club (CHF)

TURKEY – TCL DenizBank Wildcats (IW)

How are these teams split into their Groups?

Play-In Stage The 12 teams starting in the Play-In Stage were split into three pools:

  • Pool A consisted of RNG, DRX, FNC, and BYG.
  • Pool B consisted of MAD, EG, SGB, and DFM.
  • Pool C consisted of CHF, IW, ISG, and LOUD.

We drew these teams into the two Play-In groups on September 11. Each Play-In group contains two Pool A teams, two Pool B teams, and two Pool C teams. No team may be in the same group as another team from their region.

Group Stage The twelve teams starting in the Group Stage were split into three pools:

  • Pool A consisted of JDG, GEN, RGE, and C9.
  • Pool B consisted of CFO, T1, TES, and G2.
  • Pool C consisted of 100T, SGB, DK, and EDG.

We divided these teams into four groups for the Group Stage. Each group is comprised of one team from each of the pools. As with the Play-In groups, no team from the same region may be placed in the same group. If a team is drawn into a position that would directly violate this rule or potentially force a future draw to break this rule, the club will be moved to the next available group slot.

Performances: September 29 – October 4

The twelve Play-in teams were divided into two groups of six. Each team in the group will play one game against each other team. The top side in each group will automatically proceed to the Group Stage following these games. The third- and fourth-place teams will play a best-of-five series, with the winners facing the second-place team from the other group for the final two berths. These matches will determine the final two teams from the Play-In round that will advance to the Group Stage. Following the conclusion of all Play-Ins matches, the four advancing teams will be randomly assigned to the existing Group Stage groups.

Group Stage: 7-10 October; 13-16 October

In the Group Stage, the top four teams from the Play-in Stage will join the 12 teams which qualified outright. These 16 teams will be divided into four groups of four, with each contender facing each group’s other team twice. Two teams will proceed from each of the four groups to the Knockout Stage.

Knockout Stage: 20-23 October (Quarterfinals); 29-30 October (Semifinals); 5 November (Finals)

The Knockout Stage, which consists of the Quarterfinals, Semifinals, and Finals, is reached by eight teams. At this stage, the competition switches to a single-elimination bracket with best-of-five matches for all matches. After the final day of the Group Stage, the matchups are determined by a draw on-stage.

The victorious team will be crowned World Champions in 2022.

Bet now for your choosing team